Posted by: The Paris Apartment | January 15, 2011

I Give Up

I’m over trying to change minds that have obviously been made up. I’ve been researching CFLs and incandescent  light bulbs for over a year. It has nothing to do with what I’m interested in and I just wanted to stop the freight train I saw coming. But it seems like most people would rather take the government’s word and GE’s propaganda as gospel so what can I do? It’s all here if you want to read the findings.

My final thoughts are that  if  Thomas Edison’s bulbs have been lit for over 100 years, isn’t that the definition of sustainability? Do you really believe that the screwy light bulbs that come from China, that are considered hazardous material and have to be changed every few months are Green? If so then I can’t talk to a brick wall and really don’t care to anymore. My main concern is that there are no recycling facilities in most places and the hazards of breaking one is not on the packaging. The EPA says if not disposed of properly, they WILL pollute our groundwater, so we can’t say they didn’t warn us.

I guess every civilization has to fall sometime, I just wish we weren’t acting like lemmings running toward polluting our own water. Our parents saw the ozone happening but we  don’t look to the future like they did. If you have kids, make sure you keep them far away from these bombs. That’s the last I’m going to say about it. Make your own decision for yourself and your kid’s future. I’ll be stocking up on regular bulbs and praying my neighbors don’t rat me out to the Nazis.


Responses

  1. Hi Claudia,
    I appreciate your effort and the education you gave me about these bulbs. I thank you for speaking the truth and sharing with us the dangers and the harm of these new bulbs. I for one am a Mother who has learned from you and my son will live in a safer home for the posts you’ve done and the awareness you brought to this topic. I wish there were more we could do on a national level but I have found as obviously you have that people think these bulbs are the second coming! I just wanted to say…thank you!
    Xoxo
    Judith~

  2. Hi, I just want to say that I appreciate all your efforts. I post your links on facebook all the time.

    People dont like to think, so its easy to lead them around by the nose. I think our civilization isnt going to make it, but at least it has been people like you who gave a rats ass and tried to spread the word. Im posting this on fb now. My “green” friends know nothing about this. Its sad. But thank you for your efforts. You never know who will see your words and make a difference!

  3. Hi Claudia,

    I’m currently in school for interior design and my professors are just as brainwashed by this CFL craze. I tried explaining the hazards of CFL light bulbs and the detrimental side effects they pose for our environment but they acted like I was crazy! Surprising for professors who claim to be on the cutting edge of “green”/sustainable design… As Judith mentioned in her comment above, they really do think that “these bulbs are a second coming”. The only thing they care about is “energy efficiency”. Thank you for trying to educate people on this matter. Your efforts are greatly appreciated!

  4. Keep it up!
    You are not alone!

    About Edison…

    Celebrating Creativity – not Destruction.

    Celebrating creativity is about recognizing the advantages that different products have.
    That is why they exist for people to choose.

    President Obama, State of the Union Address 25 January 2011:
    What we can do – what America does better than anyone – is spark the creativity and imagination of our people.
    We are the nation that put cars in driveways and computers in offices,
    the nation of Edison and the Wright brothers

    Yes Mr President, Creative America, the nation of Edison:
    Would you not have allowed him to create his popular light bulb?

    And so it came to pass, in the autumn of 1879, after tireless effort working with different materials, Thomas Edison finally arrived at the ingenious invention we still see today, the Edison light bulb, the world’s single most popular electrical appliance and the oldest electrical invention in widespread common use:
    A beautifully simple, safe, cheap, bright light delivering construction.

    Maybe the time will come when, like its cousin the gleaming radio tube, it gradually fades away, the passing of old technology.

    But let it be a democratic passing by the will of the people,
    not a passing by committee dictats and decrees.

    How many American, European or other officials should it take to change a light bulb?
    None.

    How many citizens should be allowed to choose?
    Everyone.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

